Red Replaced the Nude

Welcome again to my ‘Friday Mess’ posts! I try save some interesting or non-beauty post for this days just to spice things a lil bit here and simple entertain both you and me. Just like a little party before weekends. Why not, right?

And how festive and pre-weekend is a red lip? More than enough, I suppose.

Image

I’m not a huge lipstick wearer as you may noticed – they aren’t popping up frequently on my blog. But with upcoming holidays I just couldn’t resist…I was in such a need for a red lipstick, even if I won’t wear it, just to have it at hand in case of emergency, you know…

I’ve decided not to splurge this time and at first get used to a bold lip look. What if I won’t like it? What it I look ridiculous? What if I never wear it? Those question crowded in my head.

Image

I went up for an affordable option and one that seems to be very loved among bloggers – Rimmel Lipstick by Kate Moss #10. The shade is gorgeous – cool toned based red. I’m not that confident in it just yet, but I’m working on that. We’ll get there, I promise. The pigmentation is incredible – slight dab on the lips and they are red, literally bright red. Application – I would suggest applying it with a brush (I’ve used my Real Techinques Detailer brush) just to have more control and draw precise lines. But you have go ahead right from the bullet – no crime here!

It looks incredible paired with winged eyeliner – very festive. I also find it very sexy and complimentary just pairing it with very minimal makeup look – subtle blush, no eyeshadow, skipped highlighting / contouring – just heavy mascara and red lips. Cosy outfit and you will draw attention, in a good way of course.

TIP #1: moisturize you lips heavily before doing you even you foundation, so that when you come to lips they are silky smooth and the lipstick won’t emphasis any dry patches

TIP #2: after applying the color onto the lips, put your finger in your mouth, purse lips around it, then slowly pull it out to remove excess pigment

Are you a fan of red lipsticks? What is your favorite red option?

Leave a Reply

