DIY: Hummus

It’s been a while since my last food related post so I though it’s about time to make another one. I don’t know about you, but I don’t get that hungry during the summer, I mean I do it, but all that heat just makes me more thirsty, than hungry. So I prefer something light and easy to make and to it and what can be more easier that a simple dip?

I love dips – it can spice up any veggie, simple toasted piece of bred, you can use some as a side dish or even a sauce for meat or fish.

On today’s menu is hummus.

IMG_8660

So you will need: 1 tin of chickpeas, 4 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 tablespoon of lemon juice, a pinch of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 1 clove of garlic chopped (I put 3-4ish… I love it to be spicy and garlicy yum!), 2 tablespoons of water, 1 tablespoon of honey (trust me on that one!)

Some people prefer to drain the chickpeas and add water, but I prefer to use the one from the tin. You can split the peas and tin water to add it gradually so you can control the consistency. Then add all the ingredients (skip the olive oil for now) to the food processor and blend blend blend. Now… add the olive oil. The reason I add oil the last as to save its compounds and vitamins not breaking them mechanically. And it’s ready to serve – cut some carrots, peppers, cucumbers, celery, toast some bread or serve some tortilla chips and tadaaam!

It’s a great snack for alone-dinner and you can make a huge bowl for friends and family – even perfect option for a picnic.

-S

Leave a Reply

